- provides a space devoted to the conceptual framework known as Hodges' model. Read about this tool that can help integrate HEALTH, SOCIAL CARE, INFORMATICS and EDUCATION. The model can facilitate PERSON-CENTREDNESS, CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT, HOLISTIC CARE and REFLECTION. Follow the development of a new website using Drupal - one day). See our bibliography, posts since 2006 and if interested please get in touch [@h2cm OR h2cmng AT yahoo.co.uk]. Welcome.

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Fink's Taxonomy: Significant learning

By L. Dee Fink, University of Oklahoma


Learning goals: Significant learning

For half a century, teachers at all levels of instruction have used Bloom’s taxonomy to generate learning goals beyond “understand and remember” kinds of learning.

This taxonomy has been extremely helpful, but it does not encompass all the kinds of learning that society and educators today believe is important. So I propose a new taxonomy, one that identifies six different ways in which learning can be significant for students:

  1. Foundational Knowledge: students should understand and remember the basic content of the course (e.g., terms, concepts, principles). 
  2. Application: students should use the content and engage in effective and appropriate kinds of thinking. 
  3. Integration: students should integrate different disciplines, major ideas, and realms of life. 
  4. Human Dimension: students should identify the personal and social implications of this knowledge. 
  5. Caring: students should develop new feelings, interests, and values in relation to the subject. 
  6. Learning How to Learn: students should keep on learning about the subject after the course is over.


Fink's taxonomy will be very useful to help frame my studies and create an online platform for Hodges' model. I will explain how and why in a future post - when my research proposal is finalised.

    Stumble Upon Toolbar